The Vampire Diaries

Ha ha! I have a new favourite T.V. show. There was a void in my life that I was barely aware of. In 2012 for some reason I used to follow Master Chef Australia, at some other time 30 Rock reigned king. Big Bang is pretty nice even now but what has captured my heart is The Vampire Diaries. I came to it late but that’s how I approach most things: a little suspiciously and very reluctantly before embracing them wholeheartedly, and then plaguing other people with my new found enthusiasms.

The Vampire Diaries has Ian Somerhalder. I have a new T.V. love! And he belongs to the Dark Side which is exactly what a new T.V. love should belong to! Nina Dobrev is amazingly dough faced and only in profile does she achieve distinctness of feature  Paul Wesley is unexciting except for* his pretty eyes and  his “ripper” past and together they are all very interesting, at least to me. After all they are all vampires. Modern day ones in the Twilight tradition but at least they are much more animated than the Twilight cast has ever been. Kudos L.J. Smith (although I bet the book writing was terrible),Kevin Williamson and Julie Plec. I was going to say God bless but that seemed inapposite.

*Edit March 11th ’17: I think I used to be crazy, also didn’t follow them like I do now,also love Dobrev and Elena. Stefan actually became my favourite character in his own right (along with Joseph Morgan’s Klaus).

Leave a Reply

